Blender IK/Constraint baking & FBX exporter

I am getting more familiar with Blender every day, but despite the plethora of turials, advice and forums, I still have a hard time finding some things.

  • Stopping the orientation issue after FBX export.
    Mesh faces down no matter what forward or up direction you choose.
  • Stopping the armature being added as root bone after FBX export.
  • Baking IK/constraints.

Thankfully, I have a solution to the latter two.

Stopping the armature being added as root bone after FBX export
Open your \Blender\2.63\scripts\addons\io_scene_fbx\export_fbx.py file (Back it up first).
Around line 2546, you should find the following:

        else:
            # the armature object is written as an empty and all root level bones connect to it
            fw('\n\tConnect: "OO", "Model::%s", "Model::%s"' % (my_bone.fbxName, my_bone.fbxArm.fbxName))

Just comment it out:

        # else:
            # the armature object is written as an empty and all root level bones connect to it
            # fw('\n\tConnect: "OO", "Model::%s", "Model::%s"' % (my_bone.fbxName, my_bone.fbxArm.fbxName))

Since doing this, I have exported several FBX files with/with out animations and imported them into UDK with out issue, aside from the orientation issue.

Baking IK/constraints.

Several forum posts and messages point to various old or missing scripts to to this.
Turns out there is no need – its built in.
Hit space and type ‘Bake Action’.

Handy if, like me, you have IK/contstraint targets not connected to the armature you want to export. As long as you remember to bake an action when you’re done animating it, its all good.

One thought on “Blender IK/Constraint baking & FBX exporter

Leave a comment