TFP demo link & Oculus Rift

True First Person Demo

A number of people informed me they could not download the TFP Demo from Gamefront. I finally got around to adding an alternate link. Until I know better, I just went with Mediafire.

When I get the time, I do intend to create a new version of the TFP demo based on the UDK classes and the ‘new project’ option. It’ll include a custom player model, though if I do that myself, don’t expect anything of any particular quality.

Oculus Rift

Be interesting to see where this goes.

I imagine a responsive 3D virtual reality headset making internet and gaming addiction even worse. Add to that the number of alternate input devices that will help reduce the disconnect between worlds and we’ll soon get people losing themselves to the game world.

Interesting times.

The Rift SDK is scheduled for release in March (give or take), so with any luck we’ll get a UDK release with native support shortly there after. Along with the UDK, you have Unity with native support, so it won’t be too long there after before a game comes along that focuses on using the Rift in a fashion that is fun, engaging and potentially addictive.

Virtual skydiving anyone?

One thought on “TFP demo link & Oculus Rift

  1. “It’ll include a custom player model, though if I do that myself, don’t expect anything of any particular quality.”
    It doesn’t have to be. If it was a cube guy it’d be good enough for a blank/new project. 9/10 things I use when testing something is cubes or larger cubes.
    (the 1/10 is when there already is a model present I can use as placeholder)

    The functionality is more important than the looks.

Leave a Reply

